The One About War Movies

Don’t know why I do this to myself. Occasionally I’ll see something on Netflix that tweaks my interest, and I’ll chase it down the rabbit hole. War movies almost always suck. But that’s what I wasted about 15 minutes on this afternoon. Got a Storm vet coming home after an IED put him in a coma for two weeks. No major trauma.  OK, sure.  It’s got to happen.  But when his wife brings him into their house, she runs off up the narrow stairs, and the whole house is dark. He calls for her. No answer. Cue suspensive music.He continues to call for her, flipping switches, but the lights don’t come on.When suddenly, SURPRISE!, it’s a surprise welcome home party. People everywhere. Lights, noise. Stupidty.

There’s not a military family out there that is that clueless, nor (I hope) callous. And I sincerely hope no one watches that cow of a movie and thinks that’s a great idea to show Jonny how much we love him.

TL;DR: Don’t waste your time on war movies if you’re looking for realism.

Leave a Reply

